Greg Waite Award

The Greg Waite Cup recognizes a Maine Junior Ski League team with:

SPIRIT – a special attitude, lively, vigor of character

SPORTSMANSHIP – fairness, courteous relations, and good losers and/or graceful winners

CAMARADERIE – friendship and goodwill between competitors

The cup is awarded annually by a vote of all teams, boys and girls.

Greg Waite was a coach for Mountain Valley skiing. The kind of guy who found boots for the kid that forgot one, helped you wax skis because the wax planned was wrong —anything that was good for kids — didn’t matter what team the racer was on. Greg was also a varsity soccer coach, ski patrol at Black Mountain, husband and father, teacher, and friend.

He unfortunately fell off a pomalift and when checked at the hospital was found to have a brain tumor that took his life by the following February.

Maine Junior Ski League gives the cup in both Class A and B. It was started before he died, and he was given a small replica of the cup at the awards for Class A right before his death.

Greg Waite Cup Winners

2023: Oxford Hills
2022: FAST
2021: no award
2020: Auburn
2019: Telstar
2018: FAST

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close